top of page
Search

A Message from Damalish:

Updated: May 27, 2021

I hope to depict awareness and give a platform to those who continue to live in fear because of the criminalization and dehumanization being undocumented in the United States creates. I know so many women in my life who are currently living under the fear of deportation, and with being part of the Mexican Migration Field Research Program at UCSD, I’m also exposed to stories of women who are currently living the nightmare that undocumented women in my life continually fear; separation of family, physical and emotional trauma, and most importantly deportation. I hope that this project can give them an emotional outlet to express the fear they often have to suppress. I also hope to learn about the way I can use my privilege and my resources to help them in any way. This entire project helps highlight the role intersectionality plays when it comes to these nativist immigration laws, which is something the UC San Diego Women’s Center encourages the community to do; to understand how intersectional vulnerabilities impact certain people on a much larger/different scale than others.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page